J.D. Williams Student Paper Award

In 2003 the Student Award was officially named the J. D. Williams Student Paper Award to honor the memory of James D. Williams, INMM President in 2001-2002, for his energetic backing of young professionals and tireless support of the INMM to stimulate interest in, respect for, and proliferation of nuclear materials management principles. Students who enter this competition will be judged on their written papers and oral presentations. Winners will be determined by judges composed of the Awards Committee and Technical Division Chairs or their designees. Cash prizes for first place ($1,000) and second place ($500) are awarded and announced during the Annual Meeting.

To qualify, students must:

  • Be a full-time student in an accredited educational institution.
  • Have submitted an abstract by the submission deadline.
  • Accept the speaking engagement.
  • Register for and attend the INMM Annual Meeting.
  • Submit a final paper no later than the established deadline (no exceptions).
  • Not have won student paper awards at past meetings.

Past Student and J.D. Williams Award Recipients

Student Award

1979 Mark H. Killinger, University of Washington
1980 Mohammad Sharafi, MIT
1981 Houng Y. Soo, University of Washington
1982 Paul E. Bennech, University of Virginia
1983 Terry L. Zimmerman, Idaho State
1998 Mark Stephen Wyatt, University of Tennessee
2000 Lisa Gee Chiang, Georgia Institute of Technology
2002 First Place Peter Jansson, Uppsala University
  Second Place Philip Hypes, National Technology University

J. D. Williams Student Paper Award

2003 Jarrod Edwards, University of Tennessee
2004 Brandon O'Donnell, University of Michigan
2005 David E. Burk, Texas A&M University
  Ross Radel, University of Wisconsin, Madison
2006 First Place Andreas Enquist, Chalmers University of Technology
  Second Place Nicholas Smith, University of Nevada-Las Vegas
  Best Poster Josh Tackenstein, Mercyhurst College
2007  First Place Brandon Grogan, University of Tennessee
Second Place Shaun Clarke, Purdue University
2008 First Place Andrew Benwell, University of Missouri
  Second Place Nathan C. Rowe, University of Tennessee
2009 First Place Braden Goddard
  Second Place Jennifer Dolan
  Best Poster Scott Ambers
2010 First Place Karen Miller, Texas A&M University
  Second Place Jamie Warburton, University of Nevada Las Vegas
  Best Poster Jose Marcial, Columbia Basin College
2011 First Place Steven Skutnik, North Carolina State University
  Second Place Marcie Lombardi, University of New Mexico
  Best Poster David Addington, Jr., North Carolina State University
2012 First Place Hirotatsu James Armstrong, University of Texas, Austin
  Second Place Eric Miller, University of Michigan
  Best Poster Phyllis Ko, Pennsylvania State University
2013 First Place Jason Lewis, University of Florida
  Second Place Scottie Walker, Georgia Institute of Technology
  Best Poster Zachary Bailey, North Carolina State University
2014 First Place Devin Rappleye, University of Utah (International Safeguards)
  Second Place Luis Ocampo Giraldo, Pennsylvania State University (Facility Operations)
  Education and Training Sheila Amalia, Universitas Gadjah Mada
Materials Control and Accountability Alexis Kaplan, University of Michigan
Nonproliferation and Arms Control Manit Shah, Texas A&M University
Nuclear Security and Physical Protection Marc Paff, University of Michigan
Packaging, Transportation and Disposition Paul Rose, Georgia Institute of Technology
2015 First Place Alison Goodsell, Texas A&M (Materials Control and Accountability)
  Second Place Sean O'Brien, North Carolina State University (Materials Control and Accountability)
  Education and Training Dhaivat Mandavia, from Delhi Technological University
International Safeguards Philip Lafreniere, University of New Mexico
Nonproliferation and Arms Control Viet Phuong Nguyen, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Nuclear Security and Physical Protection Marc Ruch, University of Michigan
Nuclear Security and Physical Protection Kyo-Nam Kim, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
2016 First Place Jude Oka, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Packaging, Transportation and Disposition
  Second Place Aaron Bevill, University of Michigan, Materials Control and Accountability
  First Place Poster Shayan Shahbazi, University of Tennessee
  Division Finalists
Education and Training Manit Shah, Texas A&M
International safeguards Division Thomas Holschuh, Oregon State University
Nonproliferation and Arms Control Alton Lu, University of Washington 
Nuclear Security and Physical Protection Geonhi Lee, Seoul National University
2017 First Place: Identification of Mixed Sources with an Organic Scintillator-based Radiation Portal Monitor, by Marc Paff, University of Michigan
  Second Place: Reexamining the State of Radiological Source Security in Russia, by Alex Bednarek, George Washington University
  First Place Poster: Phonon Dispersion Relations of bcc U and Mo from MD Simulations, by Andrea Saltos, University of Missouri
  Division Finalists
Education and Training
The Benefits of Being Bad: Advancing Nuclear Security Education Through Adversary Based Exercises, by Michael Shattan, University of Tennessee
International Safeguards
Measurement of the U235 Induced Fission Gamma-ray Spectrum as an Active Non-destructive Assay of Fresh Fuel, by Sarah Sarnoski, Penn State University
Materials Control and Accountability
Variations in AmLi Source Spectra and Their Estimation, Measured Ring Ratios, by Robert Weinmann-Smith, University of Florida
Nonproliferation and Arms Control
Development of Neutron Energy Spectrum Based Nuclear Forensics Attribution Methodology Using Trace Nuclide Ratios in Weapons-grade Plutonium, by Jeremy Osborn, Texas A&M University