Melanie May Receives National Award

INMM member Melanie May is being honored with the Secretary of Energy’s Achievement Award.  She is one of four individuals and 14 offices or teams that received recognition at a special ceremony August 29.

This award is bestowed upon a group or team of DOE employees and/or contractors who together accomplished significant achievements on behalf of the Department. These groups should demonstrate cooperation and teamwork in attaining their goals.

The award states:

In recognition of her professional contributions to ensuring America's security and prosperity through active leadership in the formulation of national level policies, identification of best practices, and modification of international binding agreements pertaining to the safeguarding and securing of nuclear and radiological materials. Through her persistence and renowned knowledge of the nuclear and radiological sciences, safeguards and security policies, inter-agency commitments, and expansive Departmental operations, Ms. May was instrumental in not only establishing policies and practices enhancing the protection of this country, but also in curtailing international commitments that would have been detrimental to the Department's mission and cost several millions of dollars to implement. Her diligence and commitment to the country's best interests are brilliant reflections of the Department's integrity and professionalism and is widely appreciated by her colleagues and peers.
For her contributions to the Department of Energy and the Nation, Ms. Melanie May is awarded the Secretary of Energy’s Achievement Award.

May is a physical scientist at the United States Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Environment, Health, Safety and Security (AU) in Washington, D.C., and provides expert advice and assistance to DOE headquarters’ programs, field offices and sites. She also develops DOE safeguards and security policy and is a technical expert in departmental, interagency, national and international meetings that could impact those safeguards and security policies.  Representing the INMM, she chairs the Accredited Standards Committee N15.

Before moving to Washington, D.C., May worked for the DOE in Oak Ridge, Tenn., as a nuclear analytical research chemist with expertise in Radiochemical Neutron Activation Analysis (RNAA), Thermal Ionization Mass Spectrometry (TIMS), and Low-Level Radiochemical Analysis.

In 2017, May received the Alumnae Achievement Award from her alma mater Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri.  May received a B.S. (Cum Laude) from Stephens in 1977, followed by an M.A. in Chemistry (Nuclear Analytical) from the University of Missouri-Columbia.