Speakers and Agenda 

Preliminary Agenda is Now Available! *

*Please note that this Agenda is subject to change as futher details become finalized.


Massismo Aparo

Massimo Aparo is Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Safeguards. Prior to this, Mr Aparo was Acting Director, Office for Verification in Iran, since 1 March 2016. Mr Aparo has been working at the IAEA’s Department of Safeguards since 1997. He served as Section Head in the Division of Technical and Scientific Services, as Head of the Tokyo Regional Office in the Division of Operations A, and as Head of the Iran Task Force. Before joining the IAEA Mr Aparo worked as Director General of an Italian company in the area of radiation detection and monitoring, in the European Space Agency and at Italy’s former National Committee for Nuclear Energy. Mr Aparo is a nuclear engineer.

Tammy Taylor

Tammy Taylor has served as the Director of the International Data Centre (IDC) Division of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) since  August 2018. Before joining the CTBTO, Taylor served as the Chief Operating Officer of the National Security Directorate at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) where she led the mission execution, capability development, and project management of the directorate of three divisions and four project management offices representing more than 1,300 national security staff. Prior to joining PNNL in 2013, Tammy served in a number of positions over fifteen years at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). She served in positions as the Deputy Associate Director of Chemistry, Life and Earth Sciences, the Division Leader of Nuclear Engineering and Nonproliferation, a group leader, project leader, staff member and Director’s Postdoctoral Research Fellow. From early 2007 to mid-2010 she was an Intergovernmental Personnel Act assignee from LANL in the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) in the Executive Office of the President.  She managed the national science and technology portfolio on nuclear defence issues within the National Security and International Affairs Directorate of OSTP for Dr. John Holdren and Dr. Jack Marburger, Science Advisors to President Obama and President Bush, respectively. Tammy has a Master’s of Science and Doctorate of Philosophy in Environmental Engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology. Her undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering is from New Mexico State University.

Stephan Lechner

Dr Stephan Lechner, based in Luxembourg, is Director of Euratom Safeguards and co-ordinator for cyber security policy in the Directorate General for Energy of the European Commission. Before this appointment to this position in July 2016, he was Director of the Institute for the Protection and the Security of the Citizen at the European Commission's Joint Research Centre in Italy for more than eight years. Before joining the European Commission in 2007, he was International Department Head and Senior Manager at Siemens Corporate Technology in Munich. Between 1989 and 2007, Dr Lechner spent more than 18 years in the hi-tech sector of private industries where he held various management positions both in operations and in industry research. Dr Lechner holds a degree in mathematics and computer sciences from Giessen University, Germany, and a doctoral degree in cryptography from Linz University, Austria. Dr Lechner is certified information systems security professional (CISSP) according to international standards.