Welcome to the October 2013 Communicator


By Brian Boyer
INMM Communicator Editor

It's cooling off here in Los Alamos as school starts and the students leave the lab and go back to college and everything turns more serious. INMM had a great meeting in Palm Desert despite the fact that again many of the usual U.S. participants were limited from coming to the meeting. Nevertheless, our smaller but very exciting meeting was worth the visit to a very hot, dry, and wildfire sunny California.


Palm Desert, Calif., USA - 2013 - Hot sun and hot wildfire did not subtract from the Annual Meeting

The Opening Plenary Panel on Nonproliferation Policy and Implementation at the Annual Meeting had Neile Miller and Anita Friedt in a nice kick-off to the meeting: 

Neile Miller, Former Acting Administrator, NNSA 

Anita Friedt, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear and Strategic Policy, ureau of Arms Control, Verification and Compliance      

We also had a fine closing plenary  Panel Discussion on Nuclear Programs Regarding Education and Training with Catherine Haney (USNRC), James Larkin (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa), Masao Senzaki (JAEA, Japan), and Klass van der Meer (President of ESARDA) where we got to see what is going on in education and training around the world.


Closing Plenary Session Panel

ImageAs always, a noteworthy INMM member was raised to the level of Fellow. Former INMM President Scott Vance attained Fellow status.

INMM announced the winners of the 2013 Awards....

2013 Edway R. Johnson Meritorious Service Award

  • Glenda Ackerman, Retired, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Brian Boyer, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Paul Ebel, BE, Inc.
  • James Larrimore, Consultant

The Edway R. Johnson Meritorious Service Award focuses on long-term outstanding contribution to the INMM by an INMM member as well as the individual's noteworthy accomplishments and contributions to the profession.


Award winner Jim Larrimore with his wife Irene and award winner Paul Ebel


Award winners Corey Hinderstein and Brian Boyer with INMM Fellow Shirley Johnson and new Senior Member Keith Tolk

2013 Early Career Award

  • Corey Hinderstein, Nuclear Threat Initiative

The INMM Early Career Award recognizes technical and professional achievements in the field of nuclear materials management by INMM members who are in the early stages of their careers. Awardees are recognized for singular outstanding achievements or a series of notable achievements over a short period of time.

2013 J. D. Williams Student Paper Awards


Jason Lewis and faculty Adviser Kelly Jordan (U. of Fla)

  • 1st Place Oral Presentation
    Jason Lewis, University of Florida
    Multispectral Active Neutron Interrogation Analysis


Faculty Adviser Glenn Sjoden and Scottie Walker (Georgia Tech)

  • 2nd Place Oral Presentation
    Scottie Walker, Georgia Institute of Technology
    Spectrally-Matched Neutron Detectors Designed Using Computational Adjoint Sn for Plug-In Replacement of He-3
  • 1st Place Poster Presentation
    Zachary Bailey, North Carolina State University
    Digital Pulse Shape Discrimination with the XIA Pixie-500 and EJ309

Entries in the J. D. Williams Student Paper Award are judged on their written papers and oral or poster presentations. The award includes a cash prize for first place ($1,000), second place ($500) and best poster ($1,000) and the winners' papers are published in the fall issue of the Journal of Nuclear Materials Management.

Robert J. Sorenson Scholarship

  • Tasneem Bani-Mustafa, Jordan University of Science & Technology, Jordan

Summary of the New Communicator

I would like to take a minute and thank our governing officers who are about to change off this fall. We would also like to thank Mona Dreicer and Shirley Johnson for their service to the EC as Member-at-Large.  Brian Boyer and Joyce Connery took over as Members-at-Large this fall on October 1.

I should note that Joyce Connery who is the director of Nuclear Energy Policy in the Office of International Economics of the National Security Council received a Presidential Citation from American Nuclear Society  President Michael Corradini, PhD. Connery received the citation for excellence in communication and collaboration between the various instrumentalities of the federal government and the nuclear community aimed at strengthening U.S. nuclear safety, security and trade policies. Congratulations to Joyce.

Once again we have a mix of contributions this issue from our technical divisions.

You will also find articles on PATRAM 2013.

We also have features from two of our technical divisions from Jon Schwantes representing the Materials Control & Accountability (MC&A) Technical Division, on the Nuclear Forensics International Technical Working Group (ITWG) and Joyce Connery, chair of the Nonproliferation and Arms Control (NAC) Technical Division, describing their divisions’ activities. As in every issue of the Communicator, we have news about the Institute’s internal operations in a column by INMM Vice President Larry Satkowiak, Inside Insights. Traditionally, Inside Insights is written by the INMM vice president and Ken wrote this issue's column before he took over as president. Our thanks to Ken for the excellent work he's done the last two years. 

Michael Huggins has contributed another piece on young professionals and Kate Putman and Claudio Gariazzo of NSSPI/TAMU have a trip report on TAMU’s  trip to the 7th Annual Summer School for Nuclear Nonproliferation and Peaceful Use of Nuclear Energy in Tomsk, Russia.

Al Garrett, chair of the INMM Membership Committee, writes about membership renewal in Member News. You'll also find a list of all the new members, new student members, and our newest Sustaining Member.

As always, I look forward to hearing from you. If you have any items you would like to have in the Communicator, please forward them to me. We are the Communications Committee!

Spreading the news of what is and what goes on in our profession is our mission!

Of course, the Communications Committee is still looking for volunteers: drop me a line at  With my foray into the Executive Committee we are looking for a new Communications Committee Chair and I believe we should also get some new blood to run the Communicator. 

Our members should be planning ahead for July 2014 and the 55th Annual Meeting at Atlanta, GA and working so as to make the meeting relevant in spite of the budget and attendance constraints of the past few years.


View from the Atlanta Marriott Marquis in Atlanta, Georgia USA. See you there next July!